Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Horus Question

ap3

I was just about set to buy a Horus 4-16x Falcon with the H25 reticle until a friend of mine got me to thinking that I would end up wanting more magnification. I am brand new to MOR with my first rifle in the process of being put together and I have yet to shoot a match.

Is 16x magnification enough, or should I be in the 24x range? I am committed to the H25 reticle system . I planned on shooting any type tactical match.

Any comments would sure be appreciate before I give up that much cash to an optic.

16X is plenty of mag. My next scope will be a 6.5 to 20 loopy. 10X is not enough when you're spotting for yourself.

Before you buy a Horus, you would do well to surf Sniper's Hide forums and WestCoastTactical.com's (my preference) forums and read the reviews on the Horus before you buy. Personally, I think you would be well-advised to choose another optic and have your reticle preference installed afterward. My impression of Horus is that software is what they do and that optics and accessories run a distant, distant twenty-second in priority.

I'm suck big wind at MOR, but I know a couple guys who are damned good and I've never heard Horus' name so much as mentioned aside from their software. The big guns in MOR scopes are: Leupold, Nightforce, Schmidt & Bender, and US Optics. I know a lot of people bag on Leupold, but all I know is that the tactical scope I just bought is PERFECT. The turrets and mildots are in perfect calibration and the knobs track very reliably. And it was 1/4 the cost of a USO or S&B.

The two hot rocks that I shoot with both have 50mm Loopy's on top of their rifle, btw. I would look hard at the TMR reticle with the first focal plane option. I'm heading out with them tomorrow AM, so I'll ask about the Horus.

FWIW...

Edited by EricW