Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What's Needed To Reload For Rifle? .223

PistolPete

I just ordered a JP Rifle and think I will be reloading for this caliber. I need to know what accessories I'll need to get this done because I'm new to the rifle game. I currently have a Dillon XL650 and I know I will need the obvious:

1.) Press

2.) Dies (quick change kit)

3.) small rifle case feeder plate

4.) brass, bullets, primers, powder

What else will I need to reload for .223? Will I need a case trimmer? Doesn't the rifle brass expand more than pistol? Will this be needed or can I do without? Will I need a deburring tool?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Pete

You will need a case cage to help set up your sizing die. Depends on the trimmer and bullets you use you will have to debur the cases. You may get away with deburring if you are using boat tail and are not looking for the most accurate load. Hope this works for you.

As to a trimmer, the short answer is yes. That being said, lots of shooters don't have one, simply buying sufficient quantities of brass that, when the day comes that trimming is a requirement, they simply dump that brass and load a new batch.

That can be done by buying some of the processed military brass that is sized, trimmed and the primer crimps removed. A thousand is pretty cheap and will last a long time assuming you start with a hundred or maybe two and load those, shoot them, reload, shoot them, etc. Probably by the third time or fourth for sure, they will need the trim job.

You could throw them away and have lots left to load.

On the other hand, being frugal, I trim. I currently have three Dillon trimmers, one for 30'06, one for 223 and the third for other calibers. I am thinking about a Giraud for an additional one.

I shoot a lot. I am very careful about my brass. Many reloaders, especially match shooters trim with EVERY reload. Easy enough with the Dillon trimmer.