Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ruger IV bolt Vs Volqs

Squirrel45

Hi All, 

I know this topic has been killed many times but is there really any advantage to the Volqs bolt over the stock? Im told by some that you dont need to lube these? Also does it weigh more or less then the stock? 

thanks 

Squirrel 

Edited by Squirrel45

I have no direct experience with the Ruger bolt, only this tidbit of info: when i asked Steve Foster his advice on parts for the VolKrak, he highly recommended spending the extra money and getting the Volquartsen bolt. I'm really glad i did, as it glides glass smooth in the upper.

I’ve run both bolts to their limit, and so long as you keep everything clean lubed and replace internals each year, you’ll most likely never have a problem. Is the vq bolt higher quality, by a long shot it is. But the factory bolt can get the job done.

I like the VQ bolt better for the knob making it easier to rack without pinching my fingers.  I also find it to be slicker that the stock bolt.  It's easier to clean, just wipe with a patch and  you don't have to oil it.

The VQ bolt also comes with their extractor and firing pin.  Both are better then OEM parts.  The extractor is cut at a better angle to insure it grips the case and the firing pin is lihter giving you faster and more reliable ignition.

4 hours ago, AzShooter said:

I like the VQ bolt better for the knob making it easier to rack without pinching my fingers.  I also find it to be slicker that the stock bolt.  It's easier to clean, just wipe with a patch and  you don't have to oil it.

The VQ bolt also comes with their extractor and firing pin.  Both are better then OEM parts.  The extractor is cut at a better angle to insure it grips the case and the firing pin is lihter giving you faster and more reliable ignition.

Hi Steve,