Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Help With Determining Missfires

Greetings,

I am a newbie reloader. I have only loaded two batches of 45ACP using Win Primers, 4.0 gr of H310, Zero 230 FMJ with OAL of 1.260. I am shooting a new Taurus PT-145 with less than 500 rounds through it.

The first batch I only loaded about 100 rounds of which had 3 missfires. The second batch, I loaded about 200 rounds of which I had 10 missfires. I am using a mixture of once fired Winchester, Remington and RP brass.

I inspected each round to ensure that they were properly seated. They all appeared to be seated properly. I compared the loaded rounds with a factory round from a Winchester white box.

I don't know enough about what to look for concerning primer pockets. I plan to separate the brass for the next batch and determine if it's a certain case that causing the problem.

Could it be that I have a bad bunch of primers? Is it possible to seat the primers to low?

All suggestions welcomed!

Thanks In Advance

The first batch I only loaded about 100 rounds of which had 3 missfires. The second batch, I loaded about 200 rounds of which I had 10 missfires. ...

Could it be that I have a bad bunch of primers? Is it possible to seat the primers to low?

Has your PT-145 misfired with any factory ammo? You certainly could have a bad batch of primers... Ideally, primers should be slightly below flush with the bottom of the case head. You can indeed seat them too low - but you'll know this by the distinctive and emphatic BANG that erupts from the case :) Usually, that only happens when you really try to force something, though....

The first batch I only loaded about 100 rounds of which had 3 missfires. The second batch, I loaded about 200 rounds of which I had 10 missfires. ...