Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Lee press/ powder question

jddisabledvet

I am just looking into reloading. I started shooting USPSA earlier this year and with ammo shortage I need to try reloading. Although finding primers is next to impossible. I am looking mainly at the Lee Pro 4000 kit for 9mm. I know the press can be a little hard to get set up right so thats not what I need to know. I'm shooting a Canik TP9SFX with Holosun, upgraded trigger and used to Federal Syntech 150gn. I've been told the most comparable bullet is the Blue Bullet 147gn. I just do not know what powder I should use to get the result I get from the Federal Syntech bullet. 

Any coated 147gr bullet should work. Blues are well liked here but they're not the only supplier and I've not noticed any difference between brands I've tried (Blue, Acme, BBI, and Bayou).

Being new to reloading I think your first priority should be a safe load. While I have noticed differences in recoil impulse between different powders in slow fire, that doesn't translate to an improvement in my performance on a stage. You might be placing an exaggerated importance on a specific load and what it can do for you.

Your first pound of powder should be something low density like Universal, Unique, Red Dot/Promo, Win 231, or 700x. Those will also produce nice soft shooting loads and fill the case enough you'll be less likely to double charge and blow up your gun.

Read this for perspective:

Edited by belus

On 9/20/2020 at 12:31 PM, jddisabledvet said:

I just do not know what powder I should use to get the result I get from the Federal Syntech bullet.

Word on the street is that Federals running Sport Pistol in those rounds. This is just rumor, but regardless Sport Pistol or a similarly fast burning powder is what you want if you liked the 150 syntech. I've run 147 Blue Bullet FP over Sport Pistol and they're super soft shooting rounds, frankly a little bit too soft for me but everyones different in that regard.