Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

10 round magazine holders.

nagantino

I'm waiting on a new Typhoon F12 shotgun to arrive. This will put me in Open Class. Locally, the box fed magazine Shotgun has gained many followers because it eliminates, or simplifies reloading. I compete now with a Beratta 1301 but arthritis makes it a slow job. The Typhoon will have 3x10 round magazines. When filled, I know the magazines will be heavy. 

I wanted to ask ....Which belt/holder system in Open Class, has gained a proven solution in Competition?

I'm by no means an expert, since I've shot a grand total of zero matches in Open, but I'm doing a bit of research on that since I picked up a Vepr a while back.

There's some good discussion here: 

https://3gunshow.com/2018/03/20/180-breaking-open-with-scott-greene-and-adam-maxwell/

That podcast episode is wider-ranging than just shotgun mag carriers, but they do spend a few minutes on that topic. One thing they mention is that .308 rifle mag holders with a two-piece design will actually fit a lot of shotgun box mags if you mess around with longer tensioning screws. I know that LAG Tactical makes rifle pouches like that, but there are probably others. They're short enough that I'm not sure an extended mag would be stable in one, but a 10-rounder would probably be okay.

Lots of folks will just epoxy a belt clip to the mag body and carry them that way. No personal experience with that, though.

Nerd makes high-end shotgun mag carriers, but I think they're specific to Vepr mags, so they might not fit yours.

I believe the Typhoon uses 1919 based mags, if that is the case look at the Safariland .308AR mag holders.

i use them for my Armagon G12 which uses 1919 mags.  I run the pouches with the ELS fork mount which then mates to an ELS receiver made by Binary Engineering which mounts to a Double Alpha belt.  It works wonderfully.  The belt and pouches hold the mags right where I put them and I can swap pouches as needed per stage.