Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

HS-6 with 180 grain missouri caste bullets

Jschultz90

Hi im new to reloading and purchased a glock 22 gen 3. I have not found any exact load data on the combo i suggested. The closest i can find is a 175gr lead bullet or a 180gr jacketed bullet. And from what im gathering from reading on here is that lead needs less of a charge so would the charges they recommend for those loads be a good starting point to begin with or should i back it off more than that and just work my way up until im satisfied 

Hi im new to reloading and purchased a glock 22 gen 3. I have not found any exact load data on the combo i suggested. The closest i can find is a 175gr lead bullet or a 180gr jacketed bullet. And from what im gathering from reading on here is that lead needs less of a charge so would the charges they recommend for those loads be a good starting point to begin with or should i back it off more than that and just work my way up until im satisfied 

I suppose my question to you would be, why HS-6?

Sell the HS-6 powser to an open shooter for 9 Major then buy the appropriate powder for your .40 Major load (WST, Win 231, N320, Tight Group, Prima SV, etc).

Powder is cheap, use the correct powder for your loads verses trying to use us “free” powder that is the wrong burn rate.

Sell the HS-6 powser to an open shooter for 9 Major then buy the appropriate powder for your .40 Major load (WST, Win 231, N320, Tight Group, Prima SV, etc).

Powder is cheap, use the correct powder for your loads verses trying to use us “free” powder that is the wrong burn rate.

I was going to go this path but you beat me to it.

It’s hard to convince someone that has wrong powder to get the right powder. Especially when they got it for free.

At a Glock OAL, HS-6 could be bad.

Even if major is not achieved, you’ll have unburnt powder in the gun. You won’t achieve much with HS-6.

4 hours ago, FortyOverUnder said: