Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Quad loading question

Just got my Franchi, and I’m starting to practice quadloads. I have a problem which I’m sure is resolved by correct technique, but I’d still like to know what to do if it happens. I’m not sure if I am bumping the shell stop or if I’m just not inserting the shell far enough, but sometimes when I load the first two shells, the second shell gets pushed back out into the loading port preventing me from loading the second pair of shells.

What is the correct procedure here? Do I just rack the bolt and fire the loaded shells and drop the current pair of shells? I’m completely new to shotguns so sorry for the noob questions

Also what sort of live fire drills are recommended if I don’t have steel to shoot at? I’ve been told to get clay and just stand them on the berm and fire at them.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

sometimes when I load the first two shells, the second shell gets pushed back out into the loading port preventing me from loading the second pair of shells.

What is the correct procedure here?

Looks like the Franchi has the same manual of arms setup as a M2, eh? 

If you don't have one in the chamber, just rack the bolt to load that shell on the lifter into the chamber, then continue your loading. 

If the gun has one in the chamber, drop the two extra shells, continue shooting your array, then make up the load during movement/dead spot in the stage for a general answer.  Ideally.  However, depending on the stage setup and shell count, you may need more shells in the gun NOW, so rack the bolt to spit out the one in the chamber, which will load the one on the lifter, then continue your loading.

I’m not sure if I am bumping the shell stop or if I’m just not inserting the shell far enough