Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

M&P CORE questions

VforVandetta

Hey I wanted to ask a couple things.

First time poster on here form Ohio.

I run an M&P 9mm 5' core with RMR for 3gun/USPSA.

Recently my front sight broke off and it has me thinking... I've shot a couple matches without it and seem to be doing ok...but then again I see the frame mounted guys and the C-mores... it makes me ask...how important is co-witness really?

big selling point with the cores is they co witness with RMR/Deltapoint....

I have a new Dawson Precision front sight ready to install on it, but just thought i'd ask....I did good at my 3 gun match, but then ran my first USPSA match and keeping a good sight picture was a bit of a challenge.

Also, Is anyone running the vortex razor on a core with tall sights? interested in that.

Thanks for the reply. I'll probably get to try the razor regardless, one of my sponsors just became a distributor for Vortex.

I just wondered..i'm still relatively new to serious pistol shooting... maybe a year and a half.

I *think* I like the cowitness, but I'm still having trouble picking up the dot on the draw....I find i'm faster with irons half the time....So I don't know if the cowitness is helping, hurting, or what. Since I lost my front sight, its been about the same or a little harder to pick up the dot. Then again, it seems like it gives my brain "less to think about" So i find myself wondering, "if this is harder, then what is with all the frame mount and non co-witnessed guys..."

is it just that much more training involved?

I like shooting with the red dot in general for transitions, and i just think its cool. I wanna understand this.

Edited by VforVandetta

Thanks for the replies fellas. Definetly helpful.

I'll try the razor, I'm hoping it won't be too much higher than where my irons "were" it was already shooting .5-1" high at 10yds. Though I guess shooting at the bottom of my targets won't be too much of a hassle.