Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Total newbie questions

zombienomore

I shot handguns for years. Mostly informal target shooting and plinking. I am 47 years old and live in the Pacific Northwest. The only revolvers I have right now are S&W 686 2 1/2 inch and a 4 inch Model 19.

I ordered, and will be getting this coming week, a S&W Performance Center 625 with 4 inch barrel with Miculek grips. I handled one in the store and fell in love with it.

I'm curious about getting involved in some competitive shooting. Be it steel plates, pins or targets.

So....I have these questions:

What other gear will I need to get?

What sports will my 625 be best at?

Are there "beginners levels" for competing?

Anything else I should know, or be prepared for?

Thanks for any info!!

Rog

ZNM,

What other gear will I need to get?

holster, belt, moon clips,  clip holders

-----------

What sports will my 625 be best at?

Just about anything.  USPSA has revolver, so does IDPA.  Steel Challenge...you name it.

-----------

Are there "beginners levels" for competing?

I think you will find that all levels are really beginner levels.  Enjoy the climb.

-------------

Anything else I should know, or be prepared for?

Watch how the top guys move when they aren't shooting.  Take your time when you are shooting.  Have fun...no matter what.

(Edited by Flexmoney at 11:46 pm on Mar. 10, 2002)

Quote: from zombienomore on 11:46 pm on Mar. 10, 2002

What is my gun best suited for?

The more appropriate question would be: "What kind of competition am I best suited for?"

Tell us a bit about your interests, temperament and what you hope to achieve by competing.  Do you want to shoot small groups on paper? Do you want to shoot very quickly and accurately? Do you wish to move around as you shoot?  With more information we may be able to make better suggestions.  Welcome to the board, by the way.