Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

looking for load data: 95 gr bayou bullet for open steel gun

ktyler

I have searched but I have not found. I am looking for a good starting place to work up a load using the bayou 95 gr bullets or 105 for my open steel gun. open gun is a 4.5 inch 1911 with a 3 port comp. I have auto comp and silhouette on hand. I am new to working up minor stuff since I usually shoot major 9.

I already have a 105gr bullet load for my iron sight gun but ramshot comp is too fast and not enough gas for the open gun comp. If anyone has complete data great but if anyone can offer a safe starting point that would be awesome. Once I have data to post I will share what I learn. I am hoping to be in the 1200 fps range to give me a 115 PF. Slower if I can get the comp to work.

Thanks for you help

Keith

Tyler Firearms Instruction

I'd just start with whatever powder you're using for Major with a heavier bullet,

and load that under your light bullet. E.g., if you use 7 gr WAC with a 124 gr

bullet, try 7 gr WAC with your 95 gr bullet.

If that's too fast, take it down 0.2 grains at a time, using a chrono, until you

hit the magic mark.

If you set up a target at 25 yards while you're chrono'ing the loads, you will

also find out how accurate the load is ... :cheers:

I tried both the 95 and 105gr BBI bullets. The 95gr has a limited bearing surface and did not want to seat consistently square in the case. Accuracy results were not good. The 105 performed better but in the end I went with the 115 as the better solution. I was using Titegroup in an uncomped gun so YMMV.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

Edited by ToddKS

• 2 weeks later...