Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

When to go open?

Okay, I'm not a total beginner any more, and I guess I'm in that stretch where it takes more doing than talking (or reading or writing about), where I just have to keep practicing, not lose patience, and just let the body get used to everything. As they used to say at my old school, "take it, read it, learn and inwardly digest it". I guess I'm at the inwardly part.

So I've been reading.. . lol ...  and folks here say that it's good to shoot some red dot once in a while....

Is there a point at which you decide to cross over? I know at local matches anyway (I shoot at SWPL) that you have to pick which category you'll be shooting at.

What makes a person pick one over another? Is it just the equipment? Or is there some finer point of the sport that I'm not understanding/grasping?

Chris,

I'm not sure if there's an answer for your question. What do you feel like doing? Do you think/feel like you should shoot Open because you should, or because guys say it will make you a better overall shooter? Or do you just want to?

Basically, if you begin with irons, I don't think you are missing out. If you have only ever shot an Open gun, as many of today's hot Open shooters have, you may be missing out on a few of the 'finer points.'

be

Aha! The light dawns.

Guess I had it the other way around there, Brian. Didn't make much sense to me but I thought I'd better check it out anyway.

Since you asked, what do I feel like doing is shooting better, period.

So far it's been learn-the-gun, and practice. That could, in itsself, last a lifetime.

What type/make/model of gun I don't really care. Just a gun that shoots well and that I'm not fighting to shoot well. In the beginning, it's more fighting myself than anything made of metal. Or, more to the point, it's about getting so's I can do I want to (draw the gun, point the gun, etc) without fighting myself or the gun...