Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Need help with benefit match sponsor questions

A little background.... I am a local LEO and love shooting 3 gun. One of our younger Deputy (mid 30's) was recently diagnosed with stage 3 cancer. He is undergoing chemo, radiation AND surgery. We have great insurance, but he said he will have a mountain of bills coming in when it's all said and done.

Being a 3 gunner I thought.... Let's hold a benefit match. And we're off.

So. I gathered the other instructors and some LEO wives to help and we have a date, rules and stages. We started contacting some major companies to sponsor the event and we were asked about tiers(?) of sponsorship?? So can someone explain the tier concept to me and what do I need to do to get more sponsors to donate items?

The idea being 100 % of entry fees and money raised goes to our brother in need.

Basically this is my first time as a match director and I need help.

Thank you in advance.

Gordon

All kinds of ways to sell sponsorship - title match sponsor, stage sponsor, division sponsor, specific expense sponsors (shirt, lunch, targets etc.). Be creative. Sponsors want to know what they will get out of it - make sure they gat marketing value for their sponsorship dollar.

Edited by StealthyBlagga

My suggestion would be to contact some of your OR based companies.

Two spring to mind - Leupold and Warne Scope Mounts.

As has already been mentioned, you should have an Overall match Sponsor (aka Title Sponsor), followed by a Sponsor for each stage. You can have 2-4 sponsors per stage.

You can also do Equipment Division sponsors.

It would go something like this, in order of highest to lowest contribution;

Title Sponsor ($1,000 to $1,500)

Division Sponsor ($750)

Stage Sponsor ($500)

Match Contributor ($200)