Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

shoot something else while steel falls.

lizz

Here's one that I already know but it didn't stop me from standing there while the front popper fell so I could shoot the back popper. Seemed like an hour passed. There were two paper targets to my left just crying out to be shot while that front popper made it's slow descent. Rookie mistake by a not so rookie shooter.

Yep. Take your shot at the steel and move on to the next target. If a steel doesn't fall, go back and pick it up. The big poppers are insanely slow to fall, especially when shooting minor. Eventually you'll find scenarios where you can take multiple shots to drive down steel that activates other targets or simply take advantage of the extra time it takes for the steel to fall.

When I first started shooting USPSA I had the opposite problem. I had been shooting steel for a couple of years previously. I would rip through the steel and pause between the paper targets waiting for something to happen.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

when i train on swingers I always setup 1 or 2 paper and 1 or 2 poppers in addition to the activator and practice seeing how many other targets I can shoot & in what order and still hit the swinger on its 1st pass ... its amazing how many other targets you can shot while waiting for a full size popper to activate a swinger shooting Production ...

• 2 weeks later...

Told my son exactly that last weekend at his first USPSA this year. He's only 14 and this was his 3rd time out. Had few papers on one stage. Told him just shoot and move , if it don't fall ca,e back , but don't wait for it to fall

• 3 weeks later...

I spent an entire season playing with where to shoot poppers to manipulate their fall rate... High when I wanted them down quick and low when i wanted more time to do other stuff. the best part of that experiment was that i never missed one. That taught me more than anything.