Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Strong Hand Knuckle Bumps Ambi-Safety

Rob D

I got a Dawson "CRP" Edge a while back after shooting Glocks for several years. On a few occasions, I've had issues with disengaging the safety in matches. It's usually when I'm trying to get a really fast draw like in a classifier or speed shoot. When it's happened, I've just regripped the gun and then disengaged the safety, but last night in dry-fire I realized what's actually happening. My right hand it getting so high on the gun that the first knuckle on my trigger finger is keeping the safety from disengaging. Is this common? Is there a better safety that sits higher on the gun? I was watching a video with Bob Vogel last night in which he talked about shaving his ambi-safety down on the right side. Is than an option if mine has already been hard-chromed or will grinding it down ruin the part? I couldn't care less about the way it looks. I just need it to function.

I'm new to 1911's in general so any help is very much appreciated. Thanks.

Also, if this has already been discussed at length, feel free to link past threads. I've searched but haven't found much.

Edited by Rob D

I put 45 degree tapers on my safeties to make them more comfortable. If you're shooting a thumb-over-safety grip as you should be, this should really be causing you some pain.

I am definitely shooting thumb-over-safety, and yes, it hurts a little. I'm getting a callus on my trigger finger first knuckled because it gets pinched when I force the safety down with my thumb.

Please have someone take a photo of you with your grip up close...

I'll post one this afternoon. Thanks!

Edited by Rob D

The same thing was happening to me: http://www.brianenos.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=209963&hl=

I ended up grinding almost half of the the strong side safety off with a belt sander. Then a little touch up with the head blaster and you can't tell a difference. Fits my hand much better now