Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Colt CRP 18 questions

RWatts

I have been trying to encourage my wife to shoot a little three gun with me, So I bought her a call CRP 18. I'm having a little trouble getting it to shoot well. I have tried HPR with 55 grai hornady VMAX, HPR 75 grain BTHP , 55 grain sierra blitz kings, and 55 grain FMJ's. The best group I got was probably an inch and a half at a hundred yards but most of them are hovering around 2 to 2 1/4 inches. I am no Pro Shooter but I am capable of shooting 1/2 MOA pretty consistently. My rifle is a Daniel defense V7 that I've done a little work to and it consistently shoots one half MOA with every ammo I feed it. So I was curious if you guys have any suggestions? I have not tried to adjust the gas block, but was under the impression this is more about making the rifle run smooth and about felt recoil, is that accurate? This is my first post so be gentle, and thanks in advance for the replies.

Edited by RWatts

Each Colt Competition Rifle is test fired at the factory, and there should be a card with the rifle that shows the group fired.

I would suggest you tune the gas system per the included instructions...

Mick

I guess your owners manual is a little different than mine. There is no mention of how to properly adjust the gas block, or how a person might adjust it to get the best results with a given ammo..