Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

First Outing with M&P Pro .40 - Have Some Questions

ZackJones

On Saturday I picked up my new M&P Pro .40. Yesterday I went to the range and did some shooting with it. I'm migrating to the M&P from a S&W 625 revolver so obviously there's quite a difference in the triggers between the two. Also I'm new to the M&P's but have shot plenty of Glocks and an STI Edge in the past so I'm not totally new to semi-automatics.

Questions/Observations:

1 - I'm hitting way left so that means I'm either jerking the trigger or I need to adjust the rear sight. My inclination is that I'm jerking the trigger because I had a buddy at the range that's also an M&P owner shoot it and he wasn't having the problem I was having. Other than dry firing it alot to get used to the trigger do you have any other recommendations or things I should check to see why I'm always hitting left?

2 - I'll be shooting it in the Production division and was trying out two different loads. The first one had an average velocity of 797 FPS (143 PF) and the second had an average velocity of 840 FPS (151 PF). I didn't have any factory ammo on hand to test with. In hindsight I probably should have picked up a box. What I observed is that the spend cases weren't ejecting back towards my face and not to the right as I would expect them to. Given that I'll be shooting minor loads and not full factory loads should I plan to replace the recoil spring with a lighter one? I'm thinking because I'm not using as powerful loads as factory that the standard recoil spring is too strong for the loads I'm shooting. Is that correct? I know the factory recoil spring is captured but can it be replaced? (I haven't looked at it to see how it's assembled yet). I'm sure at some point I'll invest in an uncaptured guide rod and spring but with the Alabama sectional match coming up soon I don't have a ton of time to be tinkering with stuff.