Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shortening a wooden SG buttstock

chp5

Don't know if this thread belongs in the Gunsmithing section or here, but here it goes.

I'd like to shorten my pump shotgun buttstock (wooden) about 1". Any tips on the best way to do this and then how to fit the buttpad to the shortened stock?

Actually, the buttstock without the buttpad is about the right length for me, but I don't have anyting to cover the bare end of the woodend stock.

Thanks for any ideas.

Are we talking an 870 w/o anything in the buttstock (I have limited experience with other shotguns).

If so, I'd think that a saw and beltsander would be the best things, then a drill for pilot holes for the screws.

As far as the pad, get one of the Simms that can be sanded down from Brownell's, wrap a couple of layers of duct tape around the wood and use a Dremel or that belt sander at a VERY slow speed to take the excess off of the sides of the pad.

Shortening a stock and putting a pad on it is one of those home gunsmithing jobs that look easy, and you only ever do one of them once you find out what it entails.

First, shortening the stock. If you get the angle wrong, you can change the pitch, and end up with a stock that either slides off your shoulder, or jumps up and smacks you in the face on each shot.

You can almost never re-use the old pad. The screws invariably end up in the wrong places on the new back of the buttstock. You need the next size smaller from Brownells.

You want a big belt sander, a new belt, and a high speed. Too slow, or dull, and it grabs the rubber rather than cut it. If you're luccky it will only be "grabby" enough to tear the edges of the pad. If you're unlucky it will snatch the stock out of your hands. You also use the belt sander to sand the newly-sawn buttstock, before you apply some kind of sealer to keep the wood from warping when it gets wet.