Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Anyone shoots 20g in 3-gun?

guys, I'm new to 3-gun and wondering does anyone shoot 20g in 3-gun? Also, would a pump action really be "limiting" for speed (split time mainly)?

thx in advnce...

Edited by DrLove

A few years ago at the R&R match some guys were complaining that one of the stars was set too heavy and was difficult to get the plates off. Along came a kid on the squad shooting a little 20 ga pump and he blew off the plate like they weren't attached. The complaining stopped pretty quick. 20 ga loads run around 1 oz of shot which is what I shoot out of my 12 ga, so you shouldn't have any trouble knocking down steel if you have enough choke. How fast you can reload will have more effect on your time than how fast your gun cycles.

Doug

This thread made m thin a bit. Has anyone shot both at speed and noticed a difference in reloading speed loading the 20 gauge. For weak hand loading I would think it would be easier shuffling the smaller 20 gauge shells.

I have a 20 gauge M2. I have yet to shoot it in a match simply because its not easy to find stuff for it. Caddys mainly. Since Tim Ubl from TACCOM shoots a 20 gauge he is actually making a cool little device called a quick caddy and I just scored some quad load caddys for it from him too.

The 20 gauge should knock down everything we shoot in 3 gun if the targets are set properly.

It is really easy to grab 5 20 gauge shells at a time but its not easy to load any shells in a 20 gauge M2 be star it's so narrow. I'm hoping the quad load is easier for me because it requires less thumb in the gun to load.