Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Cheely Offset Cmore Mount

3gunfun

I just tried to install a sideways offset Cheely Cmore mount and it touches the top of the slide. Has anyone run into this?? Looks like I will need to flattop it, but how much can I take off and what would a safe clearance be when I am done.

I am a machinist and have access to a full shop so no problem there.

Thanks,

I had that problem with the Quinn III so I sent it back. I did some research and found that Cameron Custom Guns has adjusted theirs to fit on round top slides. I ended up with the Brazos offset as opposed to a 90 degree. I just like the vertical mount better. The only reason I was changing was ejection issues.

SR

I guess I will run the upright mount for now. I just think transitioning from limited to open would be easier with the sideways mount. I will flattop slide once I decide on lightning cuts. Thanks

I mounted quite a few of both mounts and the low clearances or no clearance is not always the fault of the mount.

If the frame was drilled and taped for standard mount, the holes can be lower on the frame then the side mounts were designed for. Round slides vs flattop slides add more variance.

If you buy a used mount, highly suggest you ask the seller what kind of slide it was fit for and look at the fit of your current C-more mount. Measure the position of the holes on your frame and compare. I have seen some c-more holes drilled with a slight downward angle for the mount.

Not all parts are plug and play.

I mounted quite a few of both mounts and the low clearances or no clearance is not always the fault of the mount.

If the frame was drilled and taped for standard mount, the holes can be lower on the frame then the side mounts were designed for. Round slides vs flattop slides add more variance.