Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ruger GP 100

Endurokids

How is this pistol for USPSA/IDPA matches?

I'm new to the revolver thing so what would I need done to it, to get started.

I have AA belt set up for my XDm 9mm and mags. Will the belt work for the revolver gear?

What speed loaders/holders are good to use?

Any other tips out there?

Thanks in advance.

The Ruger GP-100 is a very sturdy and reliable revolver. There are only two screws on the gun that need to be addressed -- the grip retaining screw and the small screw under the cylinder release. S&W guns have three screws on the right hand side plate, one on the rear sight, another on the cylinder release, and another on the mainspring to tension it. If anyone of those loosens up, you can have a malf. I've seen rear sights, cylinder latches, and even cylinders (when the crane screw backs out) fall off in a match. Then of course, there is the mainspring tension screw. It it loosens you get light strikes. That happened to me on the first stage at 2006 USPSA FL State, and killed me.

S&W has also changed it's rifling in the last five + years and they do not handle lead bullets as well as the Ruger, and do not offer the same level of accuracy if you prefer to shoot lead. I couldn't get better than 4 inches from a 25 yard bench rest with my last 686, but I can get 2.5-inches with my Rugers. I'm a IDPA SO and I have also seen that a lot of 158 grain lead bullets, cast and swaged, have tumbled when I score the targets (and from my previous gun as well). The Ruger shoots lead well, and the factory barrels are more than accurate enough for ICORE (which is the most accuracy oriented of the action games).

I shot S&W revolvers in competition (and carried them on both military and LEO duty) since 1968. I changed to the GP-100 in 2006, and never looked back. I now have four of them. I am biased in their favor, but I think my reasons are backed by experience.