Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Captains of Crush

JD45

The COC grippers are so popular here I think we need a training question and answer thread.

I'll start:

How do you train a huge imbalance of your hands? With my left hand, I can barely close the #1 5 reps on the first set. On the fourth set with my right hand, I closed it 17 reps. WTF?? I don't know how to make the left catch up.

I just bought a set for starting out myself so I'm no expert. I'd say just train as hard as you can on each hand and hopefully they will eventually get close... no reason they shouldn't. I'd imagine everyone's strong hand gets more general use so naturally it's stronger.

My weak hand is still a little off my strong hand but getting better. If you are really interested in getting them balanced... train more with the weak hand for a while.. give the right hand some rest. I don't think it's a big deal though.

Funny thing though... when people start working out- say bench pressing... you don't see people tipping them on their weak side.. same thing with curls, etc. Mind must make things equal somehow....

I wouldn't worry about any imbalances too much. If it is bugging you, work around your weaker hand. Do however many reps and sets your weaker hand can handle and then use the same weight and reps with the stronger hand.

I'm with lugnut though, just workout both hands. I bet you even out a bit. Make sure you warm up too! Don't want any pulled muscles.

If I have this kind of problem. I would train my weaker hand with very high intensity for giving it everything I got. After that I would try to give my best workout to my stronger hand. My main goal should be bringing my weaker hand so strong as posible and hoping tuhat to happend. I hope this will help you. Good luck! :-)

One thing you need to remember, you are training Flexors with the COC grippers. You need to train extensors also or you will have real problems later.