Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

A month of over-analyzing: a "which gun" thread

kreativecid

Seeking input on a new uspsa firearm with the factor of price being the major roadblock. Been on the fence over a month.

Currently my favorite firearm is a STI Spartan 9mm 1911. It feeds, ejects and is accurate. Cost about $750 after magwell, lighter springs, front sight, etc., not counting my time to polish and tweak. Ugly and simple, but my friends refer to it as my "A gun" meaning it hits Alphas all day long (exaggeration, I know).

Disclaimer: I prefer USPSA much more than IDPA but will dabble in the latter a few times a year. I don't want to shoot minor in USPSA singlestack. I'm not a pro wannabe and scoring minor is not the end of the world, but I do like playing on an even field.....and I do like buying a new gun. :D

Sold my Spartan 45 to a friend when the "need" to have super expensive 1911 reared its ugly head. Found out my worked-over Spartan is just as accurate out to 25 yards and I didn't worry about holstering/scratching/abusing the gun. I reload 45acp and still have 5 mags in the closet waiting to be slammed into a 45 1911 magwell.... A new Spartan 45 is $585. Almost a turn-key operation.

Here's the catch: My first steel 9mm was an old CZ75b. I used to shoot Production with polymer and don't do as well vs steel & heavy, and currently the "want" for a new CZ SP01 Shadow is pretty high. Spent way too much time in the past month reading and reviewing and trying to find a deal. The heavy steel CZ may soon be legal in IDPA, but for now it's USPSA Production only. Price after purchase and more mags and holster, action job, etc. could be around $1100 to $1200. I know the gun is the cheapest part of comp shooting but compared to a Spartan/magwell/new springs, etc. it's a lot more to start back in Production. Think of the ammo and lessons and travel/entry fees one could have with the difference.