Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Mirror Finish Polishing STI Magazine Tubes

Tactica

I'm new to the sport as I've mentioned before here. I realize this may just be a newb question, so I didn't want to clutter up the gun smithing section.

I bought some STI Superior Firearms mags from Shooters Connection recently. They appear to be well worth the price. STI tubes, grams springs and followsers, Dawson base pads, mags are tuned. However, they have almost what I would describe in lamens terms as a galvanized look / feel to them. Finer than that, but not a high polish to the body of the mags. I was 'expecting' to receive a high polish 'mirror' finish tube.

This is probably because my limited STI Edge gun's STI tubes have that 'mirror' polished finish to them. I had a 'perceived' notion that high polish = quality = drop faster.

I called Superior Firearms today and spoke to Joe and talk about these mags. He was quite courteous and patient with this new competition shooter's questions. From memory, he explained that the tubes go through a 3 day polishing process, followed by a soda blast (I don't know what that is). Then, another 2-day polishing process.

I told him I didn't have my new gun yet, but was curious if the mags would drop as cleanly from the 9mm open as they high polish or 'mirror' finish ones would from my Limited 40 gun.

He explained that although the new 9mm tubes may appear to be 'rougher' than the 'mirrored' looking .40 tubes I have, they should drop as fast if not faster than the .40 tubes. He said in his experience, mirror finish creates a larger surface area for binding to occur. He explained that due to the 9mm tubes being polished through his process, they should have very smooth and consistent planes along the body. However, if magnified enough, they should also have millions of microscopic rounded surfaces creating less surface area and allowing the mag to drop fast.

I had no argument, I'm new, this all seemed logical and made sense.