Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New reloader about to start loading for 30-06 rifle

pmclaine

I am new to reloading. I bought an S1050 to produce ammo for .45 ACP and 30-06. I have made enough .45 ACP to get me through the winter and I'm ready to convert over to 30-06 to make some test load rifle ammo for the summer.

I have two tool heads for my rifle reloading and intend to set one up for the Rapid Trim case prep and the other for loading. My goal is to produce USGI M2 spec ball ammo to run through an M1 Garand and a couple of Springfield 03's. The shooting I do is typically 100 yards but when time allows I do go to the 300 yard range. Unfortunately in MA 300 yards is about as good as it gets. So at these distances I am not looking for benchrest ammo. I am expecting any gains in accuracy from my reloads will be the result of using a better quality bullet than the flat base 150 grain Greek GI pill my surplus ammo currently has.

These are my rifles they have already been through a lot and I don't want to blow them up. I expect enemies of our country have already tried.

GungnirNothungMjolnir-1.jpg

I'm looking for confirmation of what my reloading plan is and any helpful hints that may be out there that get lost in the all encompassing, highly detailed, comprehensive instruction pamphlets and video that Dillon puts out.

My case prep process

Station 1 - Feed lubed case

Station 2 - 30-06 universal decap die. Thoughts on using the regular size die here?

Station 3- Remove military crimp on surplus ammo

Station 4 - Empty

Station 5 - Empty

Station 6 - Rapid Trim set to size/trim case. Helpful info regarding setting the trimmer?

Station 7 - Empty

Station 8 - Empty. Finished case goes into bin for trip to tumbler to clean off lube/brass sworf.

My loading process

Station 1 - Feed clean unlubed case