Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

sights/target focus

Xander

Hi! I'd just like some expert advice on my dilemma. Well, Ive been shooting on/off for 3 years and only started out shooting IPSC style Prod last July of this year. I'm currently using a Glock G17 with .215 Warren Sevigny sights. I pretty know all the basics, stance, grip, eye dominance etc. and been trying to absorb all the info here. I'm right hande, right eye dominant btw.

I spend almost all my free time dry firing, as susual achieving zero movement on the front sight with a perfect trigger pull, I usually aim on a 1" round targets 5-10 yards on walls of my apartment. I've been doing this drill since I started out shooting 3 years ago. That's where I think my problem started. When faced with an IPSC board 7yards and farther I just don't know where to aim and I'm just all lost, I can't see proper alignment of my sights, the target and my sights are all equal on my vision. I just can't seem to apply the "calling shot" technique especially when under time pressure, so I usually end up with a C's or 'D's. But on 8" steel target, I can easily hit them as far as 30 yards with one shot (15 yards with both eyes open, and one eyes closed 15 yards farther). I can also shoot good groups with double taps on transition in 3 IDPA boards placed 1 yard apart head zone on practice session. I just don't know what to do and would really need some guidance on hitting those brown paper. Any advice or info will be great, TIA :)

I'll bet you struggle on targets that are half-covered by No Shoots, too.

Your problem is called/akin to "shooting brown". You've gotten so used to holding anywhere within the outline of a target that you simply can't find the A-zone when you mount the gun on something with "invisible" scoring areas.