Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Benelli SBEII for 3gun?

loneranger04

I'm new to 3gun and have only shot a couple of local matches. I just spent more than I could afford on a upper for my AR for 3gun and now I'm working on the shotgun part and don't really have any money left to put into a shotgun. I have a Benelli SBEII with a 24" barrel that has been my bird/turkey gun and it looks like, after reading some of these post, that it will do to start with however I was wondering what all I would need to do to it to make it work for 3gun. Do I need sights? Or can I use just the beads on the barrel I have now? I've never tried loading this shotgun quickly, will that be a problem? My first two matches I used my 870 pump with a cylinder bore which worked fine however the guys winning are using auto loaders. Should I just stick with the 870?

Thanks ahead of time.

If it will cycle with lighter loads (2 3/4" 3-3 1/4 dram 1 1/8 oz), then by all means put a Nordic tube on it and use it. Later, you can put the Nordic tube on a Benelli M2 if you decide to change. I have never shot a SBE, but if the loading gate is set up like an M1/2,it shouldn't be a problem to load. I would think that you would be faster with it than you are with an 870. I own several 870s and a couple of Benellis, I can load the Benellis faster due to the shape of the shell carrier and size and shape of the loading port, you may be different though.

Hurley

I have a SBE2 that I use for duck hunting. It would also serve as my backup 3 gun SG in the event that my M2 went down. Mine will run 3 dram Federals no problem. The nice thing is that the magazine extention is the same for both guns.

Since you already have the SBE2 just buy a Nordic ext. tube and use it in a match. If you later decide to buy something like the M2 then you already have the ext. tube. If you don't feel that you want/need/whatever it then just sell the ext. tube and keep using the SBE2 for whatever you originally bought it for.