Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Newbie here --Need 10mm Info.

Fotis

Hi guys. New to to forum.

I have been shooting the heck out of my Tanfoglio EAA Witness Limited Pro 10MM .

Now before firing it I did swap springs to a 20 LBS spring set from Wolff.

I shot another 50 rounds or so yesterday with a hotter load

180 gr JHP with a max load of Blue dot. They averaged 1300 fps. Definitely max and I felt it too, and verified by the chronograph.

Light loads ---heavy loads---- everything!

So far so good. I did have one problem though. Got an extra mag from Midway USA. They advertised it as a 15 shot. When it arrived it had 14 written on it and that is all she will hold! No big deal until I tried to seat it in the gun. I slammed the heck out of it in order to seat it and I thought it sat well. Every shot the mag release disengaged and it fell on the ground!

I called Midway USA and they are sending a new one. The factory mag is a gem.

It seems to me that it does not seat in deep enough for the magazine "button" to engage the groove on the magazine. Any input?

Also is this the model 10mm that has the cracked slides issue? This slide feels like a boat anchor and I had a 20 lbs spring kit installed from wolf.

One more question. Is this the model that was affected by the cracked frames? Also any recommendations on upgrades to extend life?

If I do order more magazine where should I buy from? I also heard there was an O.A.L issue with them????????????

Sorry for the multiple questions and thanx!

Edited by Fotis

As I mentioned in the other thread, the Sprinco guide rod is the biggest thing you can do to keep that 10mm in 1 piece. I was seeing peening in the frame where the guide rod sits, after 500 rounds, but after I installed the Sprinco it looks just the same as it did (after another ~700 rounds).