Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Will springs cause FTE?

Hi-Power Jack

I've been shooting BHP's for 45 years, with stock springs,

and with factory ammo - no problems with ejection.

Just got a "lower power spring", and bumped my ammo up

to 132 pf (147 gr MG, 3.8 gr W231, at 1.13". I use

9mm range brass (just like I do in my STI TruBor; clean

the brass the same; run it thru my Dillon Square Deal;

chamber check the rounds - just like in my TruBor - not

having any problems with the TruBor, just the BHP.

Every 50 - 100 rounds, the fired case will be stuck in

the chamber (mostly out of the chamber) but in front of

the next live round coming up the magazine.

I have only about 2,000 rounds thru this new spring -

and just cleaned the extractor for the second time.

I keep the gun well lubed when firing.

Since too strong a spring will cause stovepipes (?),

will too weak springs cause the fired cases to get

caught up in the line of the new live round?

Would I be better off with a slightly stouter spring

(I just ordered the diagnostic kit, with four different

springs).

This problem has persisted for six months with me

tinkering with the rounds, etc, and just when I think

it is all solved, I'll have another FTE. I've actually

got thru one entire match without a FTE, but then the

next match (Area 7:((( - I had three (3) FTE's.

Any thoughts will be appreciated.

If I can't get this fixed, I'll have to buy a Glock:((

Jack

A couple questions to clarify, which spring are you talking about? Recoil ? hammer? sear ?. What model Hipower ? with or without firing pin stop ? internal or external extractor ? What is the "E" in your FTE's, extract or eject ?