Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

.40 Magazine Capacity

All-Gator

After years of shooting STI/SV pistols I am trying a CA75 SAO in Limited. So, I'm a newbie to CZ. What is the best way to increase the capacity of the 12-round mags to a full-length 140mm? Extensions? Buy 19-round 9mm mags and modify the lips? How many more rounds can I anticipate?

No, I don't want to buy a TS...I want the small frame. Creativity of solutions will be rewarded...with praise, that is.

Thanks

A-G

I've already been there. Beretta mag extensions from pierce, 14 reliable, 15 difficult, lots of trimming on the follower needed to make it sink into the base. Will not hold slide back. There are also czcustom.com mag bases, that will give you 13 or 14 from what I hear. Also, don't totally discount the ts. There are some out there with grip reductions that are just about as skinny as a small frame.

16 will not work. I removed the spring and follower from my setup, and the 16th round still would not go in. the small frame mags are just too skinny.

Ahh, I see. So it's not just the spring and tall factory follower limiting space, there is no space.

How about one of those el-cheapo (Pro-mag maybe) big stick after market magazines and metal working tools?

Edited by Middle Man

no... click my links and you'll see. the follower is as trimmed as i could get it. a grams follower might make the 15th round easier to squeeze in, but you can still use the followers you have so long as they're center-post style. they will need to be shortened and radiused at all corners in order to work with a base pad. i checked out the pads from czcustom, and they look like the way to go now if you got $40/mag to blow.

one last thing: i don't run a mag well. so, I don't know how the pierce would work with a magwell, if the magwell route is the one you are going.

Edited by burningsquirrels