Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Support Hand Pain?

spydersmom

Hello fellow revolver shooters,

I'm a newbie, so please forgive me if this is a dumb question. :blush:

I recently switched from semi-auto to revolver about a month ago and up until now things have been great with that. I've been shooting roughly one match a week and dry-firing (with dummy rounds) six days per week as well for about 20-30 minutes per session. Two days ago while on a mountain bike ride, I noticed my left hand (I'm right-handed) felt very weak and somewhat painful across the back of the hand from behind the fingers to the wrist. I didn't give it much thought until I started my dry-fire practice last night and noticed that same pain and weakness interfering a lot with my support-hand grip. My question is this: Could this be related to the revolver or my grip, or is it more likely to be something else unrelated to the gun? My current setup is a 686 with a smallish (I have small hands - ring size about a 4) rubber (Hogue?) grip with the finger grooves smoothed down. Up until this current situation, I haven't had any problems or concerns with this grip setup and it always felt comfortable to me. I've never heard of revolver shooting causing this kind of issue in the support hand, but again I'm new to all this. I don't know if I just need to do some hand strengthening or if my grip needs adjusting, etc. Any suggestions or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

tammy

Edited by spydersmom

Hi:

Way too much practicing.....Just kidding

Perhaps you getting old.....Of course I'm kidding.

Loads are too powerful......See, I clearly don't know what I'm talking about.

Old war wound kicking back up....Now I'm just wasting ink.

I would make a change (just change one thing) and see if it gets better.

Nerves can get tweaked (a technical term) and stay inflamed for a long time.

I use weight lifting gloves (cause shooting gloves are too expensive) and that softens the pounding.