Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Precision Shooting

georgel

This is a two part question...

I'm working on building a "precision" AR and I'm new to the idea. Does anyone know what kind of competitions are out there? Yardages and target sizes are what I'm intrested in. Basically, is MOA or sub-MOA the requirement? Are there any "tactical" precision events that don't regularly go out to 300+ yards?

Second, how critical is parallax in a practical application? I was thinking about using a fixed 10x scope. I know parallax increases with power. This relates to the above question. For practial events, is it necessary?

Thanks

For 3 gun & IPSC rifle, a fixed 10x scope on a long barreled AR is not going to be very practical. But a 24" bbl with a hi powerered scope would be just the trick for tack driving plinking and varmint hunting, just not for any competition formats I am aware of.

Benchrest is gonna take a lot of development work to get there with a semi-auto. The AR is an accurate platform, but you just don't need a semi-auto here. Rats ass MOA is required for benchrest.

NRA highpower rifle allows the AR to compete in both divisions. In standard A2 configuration in Service Rifle division, and anything goes in the Match Rifle division. All sights must be iron type in High Power though, no optics allowed. Sub MOA is rewarded here.

USPSA MOR (Manually Operated Rifle) can be approached with an AR, but it needs to have the gas system disabled and a few other mods to make it perform as well as the bigger calibers do at distance.

The power isn't there for metallic sillouette (gotta reliably knock em down to score) so that's not gonna be an open venue for an AR in .223

The tactical sniper competitions are pretty specific to larger calibers again.

The ITRC in Wyoming pairs an AR type rifle shooter with a long distance larger bore rifle shooter. The IPSC 3 Gun configuration AR would probably work best here.