Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Reference for a noob at reloading

shootemups

Hey Folks,

Well as said, Im a noob at this and with the Dilloin on the way, I am trying to get my learning done while waiting..

I was wondering wher can I find a legend, or a manual or something that references loading info such as:

180 Montana Gold CMJ's

3.5 Grains of Titegroup

Winchester Brass

Federal Small Pistol Primers

1.130 OAL

0.418 Crimp

Will the reloading books that come with the Dillon tell me this info for my reloading fun?

I may be over thinking things as usual, but I am trying to wrap my head around how to know how many grains of powder I will need on specific loads and the bullet weights that correspond with the pressure created in the specific barrel dimensions....

Not to mention how many times I should reload brass before throwing it out - with or without visible signs?

yes I have begun to look at ballistic charts and see the pressures created with different loads and thats where all the squirrels start running around the noggin.

Appreciate the help guys!

Have fun and stay safe out there! 2nd Amendment rocks! :cheers:

If you shoot in Desert Sportsman, American Shooter Midnight Madness, i am pretty sure there are a lot of people who are willing to help you... Just ask and hang around you'll see a lot of great folks who are willing to give you some advise... Also, do a search here in the forum... Tons of information as far as pressure signs, brass usage and all....

Powder manufacturers publish recommendations. For TiteGroup:

http://data.hodgdon.com/main_menu.asp

They don't list MG 180 CMJs, but the load data for the 180 Hornady XTP is close enough. From there, you'll see that it suggests a starting load of 4.2 and a max of 4.7 loaded at an OAL of 1.125.