Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Barrel lenght on M&P....longer worth it?

WisGrif

Well this is my first post the boards so please bear with me. I have been pointed to this site many times for answers to gun questions, and IDPA questions. So I figured I would post up my question and see what happens.

As a little back ground I have been shooting IDPA for about 2 years and USPSA for about 1 year. I have taken a few defensive pistol courses.

In the first year of IDPA and in my first defensive course I used my S&W 4006. Love the gun but with the magazine disconcert it make is cumbersome to hammer down after showing clear, so I started to look for another gun (not that I needed an excuse to get one). I saw a S&W M&P 40c like it and thought it would make a good carry gun (if Wisconsin every passes a concealed carry law). I shot that in my second defensive course and loved it. I then started to use it in USPSA and found some of the shots to be a little far for the 3.5 M&P. So off I go looking for another gun to have fun with. I then had a Taurus PT92 (with out the decocker) given to me. I have shot this gun for a few matches (3 IDPA and 4 USPSA). Love the gun but dont like the long trigger pull on the first round of every string (shots are always pulled low). So I have stated to think about using the M&P 40c again but with a longer barrel for USPSA and using the shorter stock barrel for IDPA….thus leading to my question

Will having a longer barrel help with accuracy ? I know having a larger gun with a longer sight radius (like the PT92) is best but if I like how the M&P shoots can I do anything to help with those longer shots in USPSA (and sometime in IDPA)?

I have found (Storm Lake Barrels) Storm Lake barrels with and without ports. Making the barrel length 4.28 (factory 3.5) plus I can convert it to 9mm to save on ammo. I know nothing about the company or how their barrels are.