Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Fail To Engage..

scroadkill

Hey all - new old shooter here. 20ish matches in this year. got my C card in production and limited but Im having trouble lately with my eyes. lots of Mikes lately running limited at aimed shots, so Im checking out carry optics. And I got some new driving glasses - fresh prescription.
my new rig: springer dovetail mount, Vortex Venom 3moa, on a CZ sp01 shadow 9mm Ive been running all year.

First match was a complete fail - stinking dot turned off 4 times in 3 stages. played with tape etc.. seemed ok going into CO match#2 apart from my confidence.

So match#2 was the make or break. Pre-match I was thinking, "ok, its new. go slow. get complete sight picture. squeeze eazy.  focus on the targets - not the front sight.  get As. lets see if carry optics works." I had been wearing progressive lens bi-focals for a few years - and my brain is still adjusting back to the single vision lenses. So Im a bit uncertain about running - but eager to see my hits.

stage 1 - 23A/2C - HF 5.1 - but slow - about 8 seconds off the pace.  And I could see the holes on target - and make good decisions on make up shots. Dot is dead on.

going into stage 2 .. Im thinking "ok, now lets slowly speed up" ....and the wheels came off.

On the day I shot 140-6-14-1-5 - in 180 seconds and 72% of division winner who shot 150-0-16-0-0 in 150 seconds

Im real happy with the 140-6-14-1 ratio - I hit everything i aimed at - no mikes - and the charlies were real close.. the optic did great. Im slow - but I can work on that - .. but I had 2 Fail to Engage  - as I drove right by. - one in plain sight. one sneaky one.

So in breaking down a tricky stage - i'm counting targets per shooting positions then inserting the reload point - like in 14 targets, 8 RELOAD 3 3  - and adding one special note - like activate spinner first, left to rigt, as the appear, hard ones first, more left hand, or what ever my coach has preaching lately.