Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hornady LNL AP sizing issue

I am having issue with my new Lock N Load AP. I cannot get it to consistently size my 38 super rounds to save my life. I am using Lee dies that were mounted and worked perfectly in my Lee turret press. I want the round to be 1.256. I am getting rounds anywhere from 1.245 to 1.278 without adjusting anything. My seating die is not loose and I am using the Lee die lock rings.

WTF?????

I am losing my mind on this one. I just can't figure out why it isn't working. I'm ready to return the press!

Please help!!! and please don't answer I should have bought a 650 :roflol:

Edited by lvipscshooter

any chance the sizing die is set so the press does not make a full stroke? Try removing the sizing die and just seat a few bullets if there is any doubt

I believe there is something keeping you from making a complete ram stroke, also check that you are not bottoming out the powder measure

Edited by Hairtrigger

I am new to the L-N-L and my first attempt was 223 using Hornady dies - no problems. Next I went to the 9mm using Lee dies I have used for two years with no problem in my Redding Turret press. In the L-N-L I did not adjust the dies down enough and was not getting a full sizing. The lee dies are much shorter than the Hornady dies. Make sure you have them all the way down and are getting the "over the center" pop in the handle with out any other slots used. next add one station at a time and ensure you are not bottoming out on any thing. Also the bolt holding down the shell plate can come loose. Make sure it is not flopping the shell plate around.

Edit, are you talking about the length of the case?? You may need to trim the case length if you are picking up range brass.....

Edited by Mush from PA.