Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

STI/Marvel .22 conversion for 1911

RPM618

I have a STI Spartan and am wanting to purchase a .22 conversion kit. I tried a friends Kimber conversion, but it would not slide onto my frame fully. I'm pretty sure I could tune it to fit but would rather have one fit out of the box without any major alterations. Is anyone using a .22 conversion on a Spartan? Any opinions on the new STI/Marvel conversion that is available?

Thanks,

Bob

I have no experience with the Spartan, but I do have a Wilson Combat .22lr conversion for a 1911. It works great with cci minimags on my CQB lower. The Wilson Combat .22lr conversion in made by Marvel. It is not cheap, and the mags are not cheap, (compared to my Advantage Arms .22lr glock conversion), but overall, it is a good upper. I even use it with my papered supperssor...

Remember, on all these conversions, ammo is the key. I don't have any opinions on the STI conversion, but the Marvel kit is very good. I have had mine on at least 3 guns and it has worked flawlessly. The only drawbacks to the Marvel are it doesn't hold open on the last shot and the mags they sell. Don't waste your money on the marvel mags, buy the Ciener's, they hold 15. If you want to use it on a double stack use the Tactical Solution mags, they are well built. I have not seen the single stack Tactical Solution mags, but if they are as nice as the double stacks are they could be an alternative.

It's been my experience that either you'll be in heaven or hell with the Marvel. Every Open class guy I've spoken to about their Marvel absolutely loved it. No problems. Every Limited class guy I've spoken to that got one (I was talking into a mirror for this one) has had problems.