Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My G17 Open Project

LarryP

I want some opinions,information/advice

Building my Open gun from current 3rd Gen. G 17. #15 Steel GR Spg and GlockMeister Mag well.

Adding: Carver scope mount & Weaver rail mount, C-More “ Railway scope”, 9MM LW Barrel & Six Port Comp., and

Vanek Drop in Trigger job.

Am I better off sticking with Minor vs Major? or Can I shoot both?

Will the C-More hold up with a Major load?

Edited by LarryP

I am no Open expert but to answer a few questions.

From what I hear the SJC comp is the best on the market and KKM barrels have a great rep too. A 14-15# spring is is good for this application.

I have heard that the carver mount can get loose but I have nothing to confirm this. Also with a frame mount you will probably need to have the slide to frame fit tightened. The glock fit is loose compared to custom 1911/2011 and with the dot being attached to the frame you can loose some accuracy. If you go with some type of Jpoint or docter mounted on the slide then you could skip the tighting. But them I have heard of some not holding up over time.

Major is fine just be safe and work up your loads slow. I hear HS-6 is working well. Minor will affect how the comp works but other than that I don't know much. I do know SJC has a diffarant comp for minor I think.

When it comes to trigger and magwells it is reall going to be a personal thing. I hear alot of great things about the Vanek stuff. Just search it out and read about it.

Dave

Also I have this list I made to build my Open Glock. It's not perfect and most all is personal preferance but It's somthing to chew on.

Things to build an Open Glock (Major 9)

1: Glock 17----------------------------------$539

2: KKM threaded barrel-----------------------$225

3: SJC 9mm Compensator (9/16" 32 t.p.i.)-----$100

4: SS Guide Rod------------------------------$20

5: Recoil Spring 14lbs-----------------------$8

6: SJC Heavy Magwell-------------------------$120