Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Getting the most accuracy out ar 15

david.bergen

I read an article in Precision shooting about building an accurate AR15.

In the article they talk about lapping the upper where the barrel extension meets. The autor did it with a special tool

from Brownells. He claimed that this makes a hugh improvement in accuracy sometimes it turns a 2 moa rifle in 0.7 moa

rifle. Anybody got experience with this technique?

Using a good trigger a free float tube and a quality barrel makes for very accurate ar15's he also states....

I am new to building AR 15 but have build some serious long range and benchrest rifles so i know the trics (action blue printing, bolt lapping,custom reamers,bedding, etc...) to make them shoot.

I start from Lothar Walther stainless blancs and have a 223 Wylde reamer. So I can lathe turn the contour I want, custom placement of the gas port , gas port size,..... I just need some dimensions and tips. Are there any dark secrets for getting the most out off an AR15, installing a barrel,tuning the gas system .if so please help me out.

I live in Europe (Belgium) and it is almost impossible to get parts, uppers, due to the export restrictions. There are some firms that are making lowers and upper( in europe) but the rest we have to build ourselves.

Thanks,

David

Going from 2 MOA to .7 simply by lapping the front of the reciever?? I'd like to have seen that. Quite frankly the .7 result isn't even a great shooting AR. The barrel probably wasn't torqued right.

I've done my own barrels in the past, and with unsorted brass, no special work on lapping bolts, or barrel extensions etc, the rifle will shoot under.5MOA off of a good solid rest and bench.