Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Flat Points

kylethunder380

Hey Guys, I have some 122gr FP cast lead bullets to test out and was getting nosedives today at the range. I have no experience loading this style of bullet yet, but I was seating them so that the lube ring was just below visible at the case mouth. It was near the end of my session and my feed ramp was getting dirty, but they were consistently getting stuck into the ramp- this was not like it was happening every so often. Even only just going beyond the lube ring, they are still not very long overall because of the flat point. Aesthetically, it would look best to seat all the way down to the "shoulder" of the bullet but I doubt that would be ideal. Is there a rule of thumb for getting these to chamber in ramped 9mm barrels? I am using a reduced power recoil spring but only one size below factory.

Thanks,

-Kyle

Kyle - I've shot a bunch of these through a Beretta 92, two CZ-75Bs, a SIG P6 and an M&P9 with no problems. You've loaded them about the right length (if you measure them, you should find they're about 1.05" OAL). If you're shooting them in a 1911 pattern gun, those guns tend to like longer OALs.

How dirty was the rest of your gun? Was the load really light? My load is 4.4 grains of 231, which pushes them about 1100 fps. I'd suggest loading them hotter, if you can do it safely, and trying them again.

Kyle - I've shot a bunch of these through a Beretta 92, two CZ-75Bs, a SIG P6 and an M&P9 with no problems. You've loaded them about the right length (if you measure them, you should find they're about 1.05" OAL). If you're shooting them in a 1911 pattern gun, those guns tend to like longer OALs.

How dirty was the rest of your gun? Was the load really light? My load is 4.4 grains of 231, which pushes them about 1100 fps. I'd suggest loading them hotter, if you can do it safely, and trying them again.