Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How is your SW 625?

dagz

I am new to revolvers, I shoot 1911's and Glocks. I am seriously considering this revolver for my first.

Please share your inputs, comments, reviews to help me make an informed choice before buying.

Thanks.

The 625 is a great gun. I have a 4" and a 3" and both run great. Of course, you'll want to fix it up a little if you get a box stock one. Action job, chamfer the charge holes, etc.

Have you shot a 625? Maybe a local shooter would let you use his/hers in a match before you spend the $. I can't imagine you not wanting one after shooting anyway, though. :D

Gary

My opinion? For USPSA or IDPA its the best choice, hands down. A little action work, a little chamfering, a lot of practice and you'll be scaring the pants off auto shooters. The 625 offers the fastest reloads and most pleasant recoil of the revolvers I have shot.

I love mine. Only have 1 IDPA match on it so far but have only owned it for two weeks as of last night....

Did have some teething problems with it, though. Cylinder needed reaming to get ammo to feed correctly and the front sight popped off at the beginning of my last stage at the first match.

I bought the Wolff springs and the Miculek trigger job dvd while on my 10 day wait. Picked it up late Friday night 2 weeks ago. Shot it after my Saturday match (ran my XD). Put 100 rounds or so through it. Took it home and took it apart. Did the Miculek trigger job to it without the springs. Shot a match on Sunday with the 625. Ran perfectly till the sight flew off.

Took it home and replaced the springs and further tuned it. Ordered an SDM fiber optic and installed. S&W sent me a replacement gold dot which now rides in the toolbox. Ordered the chamber reamer from Brownells. Repaired the cylinder this last week. Ran it after a match today to verify 100% function. Very happy with it now. Was able to go back and run a couple practice stages with it. Nice.