Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New to IPSC and IDPA

Trey333

Hello Everyone. I'm making this post to introduce myslef to the board and ask a few questions. My name is Emil but everyone who knows me calls me Trey. I'm new to competitive shooting. I've shot one IDPA match and one USPSA match. I had a ton of fun and plan to stick with it.

I recently purchased a timer and I'm intersted in learning to train with it. Funds are a little tight and for now I'd like to purchase just one book, workbook, or video. I already have some training material. I have Brian's book and 1-4 of Matt Burkett's videos. I'm very pleased with everything I've purchased so far.

As of now I'm working with an IWB Leather Holster by Milt Sparks. The holster is super comfortable for daily carry but I eventually want to get something else to compete with. I'm shooting a Kimber Custom II single stack 1911. I'm intersted in a quality holster that would work well in IDPA and limited 10. I don't plan on buying the holster for a while b/c I like the idea of training with my every day holster just for personal defense reasons.

Finally one of my more long term purchase goals is a quality Airsoft gun as close to replicating my 1911 as possible. The only external modifications I've done to my Kimber are Gunners Grips and a S&A one piece mainspring housing/magwell.

So there you have it, Hi to everyone on these boards and if anyone has any advice on training materials, a holster and an airsoft gun I'd appreciate it. Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer me.

Trey

Edited by Trey333

Hi Trey,