Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

An Idpa Shooters First Real Ipsc Match

bp78

So a few firsts here. My first real IPSC match. My first attempt at video editing. And first time uploading content to the video web sites. I've been shooting local IDPA matches for almost 2 years, with a couple other 'IPSCish fun matches', NRA Action, and a 3gun match thrown in.

Saturday was my first real IPSC match, finished 6th out of 6 with 283pts in the single stack division. Todd Jarrett took 1st with 578 pts.

Looking for any advice beyond the obvious. :ph34r: Watching the video clips (thanks boo radley) I clearly need to do a few things much better:

• Start practicing better reloads.
  • Break that IDPA habit of shooting to slide-lock
  • Don't shoot the far stuff on the move. Stop and get the hits.
  • Shoot the plan. (I knew to reload on stage 3 after the steel but didn't)
  • Slow down and get my hits on steel when prone; 3 misses required another reload while prone.

What else would you suggest? I'm open to bitter criticism, don't hold back. :unsure:

Google Video:

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=7438311723958661288

YouTube:

Edited by bp78

What does your practice routine look like?

If you don't own a copy of Steve Anderson's book Refinement & Repetition I would highly recommend it. It will provide you with plenty to work on to improve you on many levels.

I am no expert but there are a couple of things I noticed.

1. Remove any unnecessary movement during your draw. Watch your head bob and other wasted movement.

2. On your reloads, move your left hand to your mag pouch much faster. I am working on this myself. The speed from the gun to to the magazine should be very very fast. This is a gross motor muscle movement. The fine motor skills take place once you have secured the new mag and are moving it for insertion in the gun.

I would check out some of the links under Range Diary to see what folks are working on.

check it out