Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Changing Direction-questions!

Dave73

In the interest of simplifying my life I'm selling my STI 2011 Edge.40 and switching to the Glock 35. I'd like to dabble in limited, limited 10 and production. I assume that in production you are limited to certain modifications but my questions are can you change trigger weight, length of pull and modify the grip.

Should I forgo Production and modify the trigger weight, length of pull or just leave it and shoot a stock trigger? I started shooting USPSA 20 years ago using a stock Glock 17 but migrated to the 1911 platform and have been out of competitive shooting for awhile now but I'm itching to get back into competitive pistol shooting again. I've purchased a Glock 35 and have already changed sights to a set from Dawson's. I have big hands and would like to do something with the grip as well so help me out and give me some advice.

Looking forward to hearing from y'all!

Thanks!

Anything you change to the exterior of the gun such as re-shaping the grip will eliminate production as one of your choices. You can do pretty much whatever you want to the inside for trigger work. You might consider leaving everything alone for a little while since you are getting into a new gun. You've already changed the sights, so you should be set.

I would certainly purchase a Glock 35 if you are wanting to play in Prod, Limited, and L10.

In Production, trigger pull does not matter. What DOES matter is any exterior modifications to the gun, like magwells, grip reductions...even modified triggers if there is a visable change on the outside. You may change the sights, but fiber optics are the limit. No C-MORE's or the like are allowed.

Here's a link the USPSA rulebook PDF Linky***

I have to ask...what prompted this dynamic shift for you?

Edited by Pharaoh Bender