Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Slumlords

Kory

I have a few small problems with the apartment I have been renting for 6+ years, and I am somewhat timid to call the owner/manager because every time I have done that in the past they raised the rent a little bit. It was the property manager that did that, and he bought the property off it's previous owner about a year ago.

Well, my kitchen faucet rusted out and detached itself from the sink the so I made the call. The other "little problems" I mentioned were: the shower knob is leaking pretty good and it's perpetual drip-drip evolved into a steady trickle that was driving me nuts, and the oven door doesn't close right and is missing it's seal so hot air escapes and burns the countertop adjacent to the oven. I admit that I rarely ever used the oven in the first five years and it has always been like that, but the woman that moved in a year ago seems to think cooking is something normal people do at home, and it requires an oven?

I made the call in February of this year, got a voicemail and left a message. No response in the next week so I called again and got the same results. Hmmm, the phone doesn't work very well I guess so I wrote a nice little business letter and included it with March's rent check, the property manager called me finally. She told me that the problems would be fixed, and the repair guy showed up the next week. I also received a letter from them informing me that they raised my rent another $15/month, those predictable bastards! I showed him the problems, he fixed the kitchen faucet that day (woohoo). He said he would be back later that week to fix the shower, and I forgot to remind him of the oven issue.

A week passes, I call the repair guy and he tells me he'll be there the next day; no show. He skips out twice more on the subsequent appointments. I should probubly mention now that he gets the contract because he married the young gal that is "in charge" on the fourplex I live in.