Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Brass Settle Slug ? Any Thoughts?

DRG

I have no practical experience with Seattle Slugs.  I do however shoot the Glock 21 in both IDPA and IPSC matches.  In IDPA I can only load 8+1 in the gun, in IPSC I'm free to go 15+1 (The maximum my highcaps can handle at the moment.)  I do notice that the gun is way more buttheavy fully loaded than it is downloaded in IDPA configuration.  That said though, I notice the weight only during the load and make ready phase.  Once the buzzer sounds, I don't notice the difference in weight or that the gun's balance changes as I shoot it closer to empty.  

However that's true for me, it might be totally different for you.  Just out of curiosity, which model of Glock are you thinking of modifying and for what game?

I don't know if the slug would be beneficial with the G35 as I've never shot a .40.  If you want to tame recoil or shoot faster splits a seattle slug might help with the other two guns, but I think you'd get more benefit from spending your money on more practice ammo and reading both Brian's posts on Fundamentals and some of the other posts on recoil management that are on the site.   Just my $.02.

DRG---

I tried a Seattle Slug for a while when I first got my G35. Since then I have switched to the THE Accessories brass mag well. Similar weight and much better for fast reloads, good quality also. Slugs and mag wells don't do too much for splits and recoil, the added weight is in the wrong place. They can definitely speed up your reloads though and possibly help the reliability of the Glock. The more weight you add to the frame the better the gun will perform in a "weak wrist" or poor grip situation.....weak hand too.