Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New Shooter - Competing W/a 9mm

govitman

I want to start competing in the IDPA, but am not quite certain on the rules. From what I can see it looks like you in a way get penalized for shooting a 9mm.

The reason I want to shoot a 9mm is due to the cost. For buget reason I will be able to practice a lot more by shooting a 9mm rather than a .40 or .45.

Also, I just put money down on a Springfield XD 9mm. Should I suck it up and get the .45 or go with the 9mm.

With that said, I do own a Glock .40

Any thoughts

Thanks - Michael

I am new to the sight, so if this has been answered before can you please point me in the right direction.

There is no penalty to shooting 9mm in IDPA. In IDPA, the scoring of hits on a target is not affected by the power of your ammunition. In other words, if you put 9mm-sized holes in the same scoring zones that 45 ACP rounds hit, both would get the same score on the target.

Your 9mm ammunition does have to meet the minimum power factor (bullet wieght in grains x muzzle speed in feet per second) of 125,000 in order to compete. Not meeting this requirement could result in a DQ at a match that uses a chronograph to check competitors, but most, if not all, factory 9mm ammunition reaches 125,000.

(In USPSA, shots not in the A zone get scored differently for shooters using less powerful ammunition, like 9mm, as opposed to shooters with more powerful ammunition).

Actually, I want to think the XD falls into ESP (don't ask!)......but again, it will fit in nicely there. If you spring the bucks for a Canyon Creek trigger job, it's even better.

Good luck!!

Welcome to the forum.

Mike

Your right. I might have mis-spoke on the proper IDPA division. (I've got into the habit of saying IDPA's SSP is almost idnetical to USPSA's Production.)

But, still no problem with a 9mm XD ini IDPA or USPSA, right?

Edited by Flexmoney