Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hello 38 SC shooters what recoil springs do you use

Mythos

Hi im new to 38SC the gun is set up with a 13 lb spring, which works well enough, but i find 10 is maby a bit faster? 

i load with VV-N105 with 10.7gr and a 123g bullet, so my question is, what do you guys run in your guns ? i dont care if i ruin the gun so to speak, i race the gun and s#!t goes wrong but, i like to be on the safer side of things, also wont i reduce recoil/shoot flatter with more spring ? please give me your insights 

Best regards

Atle.

Hi there, IMO very dependent on type of gun, ammo parameters and shooters' preference. Most of the open 38 SC shooters in my clubs have between a 7 and 10 lbs recoil spring. Never more than 10 lbs. I strongly suggest to test it for yourself whilst you video the gun's movement in a booth, as well as during practical shooting trainings. 

24 minutes ago, StefVanHauwe said:

Hi there, IMO very dependent on type of gun, ammo parameters and shooters' preference. Most of the open 38 SC shooters in my clubs have between a 7 and 10 lbs recoil spring. Never more than 10 lbs. I strongly suggest to test it for yourself whilst you video the gun's movement in a booth, as well as during practical shooting trainings. 

Really ? 7 lb.. wow that's light, I shall video it and check how it moves! thank you for replying :)

1 hour ago, Rnlinebacker said:

7lb ISMI. Slide locks up softly

I got a few new 7lbs which i use for my 9mm steelmaster, for steel challenges, but that seems very light, but I shall give it a go, wont the spring take up a lot of the recoil though? or is it how fast it slams back to 0 that's the point. sorry for the newb questions but I need to start tuning somewhere hehe