Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Live fire practice drills what’s good for beginners?

Twilk73

In the Sea of drills what do you guess recommend a beginner work on. 

I just started shooting idpa and the things I need to work in the most from my own diagnoses are longer range accuracy at speed and transitions. What are some good drills to incorporate in my live fire practice. 

Also I believe I’m driving the gun down during live fire anticipating recoil or the bang. I don’t do it dry. But I feel as though I do it live. I need to record myself to properly tell off this is true. If so any drills to work on that?

10 hours ago, Twilk73 said:

In the Sea of drills what do you guess recommend a beginner work on. 

Pick one instructor to start with and follow their advice. There is far too much noise out there and it's easy to get overwhelmed. I suggest start with Ben Stoeger and Joel Park's book - 'Practical Shooting Training.' They have broken down the training into different levels and what is required to advance.

One thing all the experts say is you have to be able to shoot an accurate shot on demand because all the dry-fire in the world won't help if we miss the targets.

The one major difference between IDPA and USPSA is the penalty for not shooting an accurate shot and it has to be done fast. Transitions, target focus, draws, reloads, leaning, support, weak and freestyle grips, and stage planning is all basically the same between the the disciplines.

1 hour ago, HesedTech said:

Pick one instructor to start with and follow their advice. There is far too much noise out there and it's easy to get overwhelmed. I suggest start with Ben Stoeger and Joel Park's book - 'Practical Shooting Training.' They have broken down the training into different levels and what is required to advance.

One thing all the experts say is you have to be able to shoot an accurate shot on demand because all the dry-fire in the world won't help if we miss the targets.