Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hello from Wentzville, MO

Cobrasc3

Hi everyone! 

My name is Jim. I am new to this forum but certainly not new to firearms. I am an NRA Certified rifle and handgun instructor. I am an NRA certified Range Safety Officer. I was a Rifle merit badge counselor for the Boy Scouts of America for a few years. I am a Missouri Conceal and Carry instructor. I am an amateur gunsmith. I am a poor collector of firearms. So I have no where near what I would like to have. But I have a pretty nice little collection at this point. I am also a C&R holder.

My most recent item I picked up is a CMP Winchester M1 Garand field grade. 10/44 manufacture. The only part I can tell is Winchester, is the receiver. All other parts are Springfield. Stock is a replacement but not a nice CMP stock. So I am wondering if it is birch and not walnut.

I am in IT. I am a Network Engineer which means I sit on hold a lot for internet providers to answer their phone. I maintain the network and phones for a large brokerage firm. So yes, I argue with carriers and internet providers all day long. 

When not at work, I honestly spend most of my time just doing research online about new firearms I see or hear about. I find them so interesting and I really wish they could talk. Imagine the stories some of them could tell us. My brother in law has a war-time bring back Japanese Type 2 paratrooper takedown rifle in 7.7. It is in pretty good shape except for the sporterizing his grandfather, or someone, did to the stock. It is missing a couple little parts are well. The mum is mostly intact with a small T marked through it. All in all a really neat wartime treasure.